Novartis researchers honored by AACR

14 April 2002

Alex Matter, therapeutic area head of oncology research at NovartisOncology, is one of four recipients of the annual Bruce Cain Award for their discovery and preclinical work on Glivec/Gleevec (imatinib), used in the treatment of certain forms of leukemia and gastrointestinal stromal tumors. The annual award was bestowed by the American Association for Cancer Research, which first set up the prize with Warner-Lambert (now Pfizer group) in 1982, to honor the work of Dr Cain of New Zealand, at its 2002 meeting in San Francisco, USA.

Dr Matter will share the award with his co-workers, Elisabeth Buchdunger from preclinical research, Jurg Zimmermann, head of combinatorial chemistry at Novartis, and Nicholas Lydon, formerly with the oncology research team at Ciba-Geigy (now Novartis) and currently vice president for small-molecule drug discovery at Amgen.

This article is accessible to registered users, to continue reading please register for free.  A free trial will give you access to exclusive features, interviews, round-ups and commentary from the sharpest minds in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology space for a week. If you are already a registered user please login. If your trial has come to an end, you can subscribe here.

Login to your account

Become a subscriber



Or £77 per month

Subscribe Now
  • Unfettered access to industry-leading news, commentary and analysis in pharma and biotech.
  • Updates from clinical trials, conferences, M&A, licensing, financing, regulation, patents & legal, executive appointments, commercial strategy and financial results.
  • Daily roundup of key events in pharma and biotech.
  • Monthly in-depth briefings on Boardroom appointments and M&A news.
  • Choose from a cost-effective annual package or a flexible monthly subscription
The Pharma Letter is an extremely useful and valuable Life Sciences service that brings together a daily update on performance people and products. It’s part of the key information for keeping me informed

Chairman, Sanofi Aventis UK

Today's issue

Company Spotlight